Mayor of Newham Announces New Cabinet And Mayoral Advisers

30 May 2014 in Council and democracy and Mayor
Following his election as Mayor of Newham and the election of a new group of Councillors, Sir Robin Wales has announced a new Cabinet and adviser line up for Newham Council for the coming term.
Sir Robin said:
“The people of Newham have put their trust in us for the next four years, based on our manifesto promises to improve lives in Newham, continue to drive the borough forward and stand up for our residents.

“I am pleased to be able to announce a new Cabinet and wider group of men and women with the experience, vision and drive to deliver that manifesto.

“Working together we will help make Newham a better place for everyone. In particular we will seek to give every child in Newham the best start in life, create job opportunities, support hard working families in these tough economic times and make Newham a place where people choose to live, work and stay.”

The Mayor’s Cabinet will now comprise of:
  • Councillor Lester Hudson, Deputy Mayor and Cabinet Member for Finance, Regeneration and Planning
  • Councillor Frances Clarke, Cabinet Member for Financial Inclusion and Health Promotion
  • Councillor Ken Clark, Cabinet Member for Building Communities and Public Affairs
  • Councillor Ellie Robinson, Cabinet Member for oneSource and Deputy Cabinet Lead for Building Communities
  • Councillor Forhad Hussain, Cabinet Member for Commercial Opportunities, Deputy Cabinet Lead for Building Communities and Community Lead for Plaistow
  • Councillor Jo Corbett, Cabinet Member for Equalities
  • Councillor Quintin Peppiatt, Cabinet Member for Children and Young People (including Children’s Safeguarding)
  • Councillor Lakmini Shah, Deputy Cabinet Lead for Children’s Safeguarding and Community Lead for East Ham
  • Councillor Unmesh Desai, Cabinet Member for Crime and Anti Social Behaviour
The Mayor will also be supported by a wider group of Mayoral advisers:
  • Councillor Alec Kellaway, Finance (Deputy)
  • Councillor Andrew Baikie, Housing
  • Councillor Ayesha Chowdhury, Community Lead for Beckton
  • Councillor Clive Furness, Adults and Health
  • Councillor David Christie, Small Business Programme and Local Enterprises
  • Councillor Hanif Abdulmuhit, Community Lead for Green Street
  • Councillor Ian Corbett, Environment and Leisure
  • Councillor Idris Ibrahim, Community Lead for Custom House & Canning Town
  • Councillor Joy Laguda, Adults’ Safeguarding
  • Councillor Lakmini Shah, Community Lead for East Ham
  • Councillor Masihullah Patel, Community Lead for Stratford and West Ham
  • Councillor Patrick Murphy, Community Lead for Royal Docks
  • Councillor Rohima Rahman, Community Lead for Forest Gate
  • Councillor Richard Crawford, Resident Experience
  • Councillor Salim Patel, Community Lead for Manor Park
  • Councillor Terry Paul, Skills and Adult Learning