Newham
warning icon
Connaught Bridge Closure from Monday 1 October for 3 week The Connaught Bridge by London City Airport has closed to vehicle traffic from today for the next three weeks. This is to allow maintenance work to the bridge. The pedestrian walkway beneath the road bridge remains open. While refurbishment work goes on traffic is being diverted via Gallions Roundabout, Woolwich Manor Way, Albert Road, and Connaught Road. Please allow extra time for any journeys in the area.​

School term and holiday dates

School term and holiday dates for 2018 to 2019.
Individual school dates may vary so please also check your child's school website.
Calendar surrounded by pencils

Summer 2018

  • School term: Monday 16 April 2018 to Friday 25 May 2018
  • May Day: Monday 7 May 2018
  • Half term: Monday 28 May 2018 to Friday 1 June 2018
  • School term: Monday 4 June 2018 to Wednesday 25 July 2018
  • Eid-Ul-Fitr: Thursday 14 June 2018 to Saturday 16 June 2018
  • Summer break: Thursday 26 July 2018 to Friday 31 August 2018
 

Autumn 2018

  • School term: Monday 3 September 2018 to Friday 19 October 2018
  • Eid-ul-Adha: Tuesday 21 August 2017 to Saturday 25 August 2018
  • Half term: Monday 22 October 2018 to Friday 26 October 2018
  • School term: Monday 29 October 2018 to Friday 21 December 2018
  • Diwali: Wednesday 7 November 2018
  • Guru Nanak's birthday: Friday 23 November 2018
  • Christmas break: monday 24 December 2018 to Friday 4 January 2019
Christmas Day and New Year's Day fall within the Christmas break.
 

Spring 2019

  • School term: Monday 7 January 2019 to Friday 15 February 2019
  • Half term: Monday 18 February 2019 to Friday 22 February 2019
  • School term: Monday 25 February 2019 to Friday 5 April 2019
  • Spring break: Monday 8 April 2019 to Monday 22 April 2019
The Easter religious festivall falls within the spring break.
 

Summer 2019

  • School term: Tuesday 23 April 2019 to Friday 24 May 2019
  • May Day: Monday 6 May 2019
  • Half term: Monday 27 May 2019 to Friday 31 May 2019
  • School term: Monday 3 June 2019 to Wednesday 26 July 2019
  • Eid-Ul-Fitr: Tuesday 4 June 2019 to Thursday 6 June 2019
  • Summer break: Monday 29 July 2019 Friday 30 August 2019
 ​

In-service training days

Each school chooses five days for in-service training.​​​​

Back to top

Related documents

Contact us

  • Education Welfare Service
    London Borough of Newham
    Newham Dockside
    1000 Dockside Road
    London
    E16 2QU