

London Borough of Newham

Members' allowances – Publication of allowances paid to members and co-opted members in the 2018/2019 financial year

As part of the legislation that sets out the arrangements for the payment of allowances, details of amounts paid to each Member of the Council and each Co-opted Member of a Committee must be published within the local authority's area. This notice sets out the relevant information for the 2018/2019 financial year.

During the 2018/2019 financial year, the Council operated the following allowance scheme:

Basic Allowance per councillor: £11,058 per annum (£10,842 up to 7 May 2018.)

Mayor's Allowance including basic: £82,620 Statutory Deputy Mayor's Allowance: £39,780

Special Responsibility Allowances (in addition to the basic allowance) for posts with different levels of responsibility attached to them:

Band	£ SRA Allowance 1 April 2017 – 7 May 2018	Band	£ SRA Allowance 8 May 2018* – 31 March 2019
6 Mayor	81839	6 Mayor	82620
Deputy Mayor	38401	Deputy Mayor	39780
5	33735	5	34680
4	26988	4	18360
3	20241	3	15300
2	13494	2	7140
1	6747	1	3570

^{*}Agreed at Council 18 February 2019

Annual Allowances for non-elected co-opted/independent members serving on the following:

Committee/Sub-committee/Commission	Annual Allowance £
Overview and Scrutiny Committee	500
Scrutiny Commissions	500
Chair of Standards Advisory Committee	1200
Standards Advisory Committee	500

Childcare/dependants allowance is set at the rate of the London Living Wage applicable at the time of the claim for each hour of care irrespective of the number of people cared for.

Travelling Allowances – the reimbursement of actual travel costs incurred whilst undertaking duties outside Newham.

Subsistence Allowances – the reimbursement of actual subsistence costs incurred whilst undertaking duties outside Newham. This allowance is limited to a maximum daily rate of £28.99 for meals and a maximum overnight rate of £116.15 for accommodation.

The Council is required to publish details of the payments made to each Member of the Council and each Co-opted Member of a Committee in respect of the following allowances:

- Basic Allowance
- Special Responsibility Allowance
- Travelling Allowance
- Subsistence Allowance
- Dependants' Carers' Allowance
- Co-Optees' Allowance

Details of the amounts paid to each Member in the 2018/2019 financial year are set out in two Schedules. The amounts shown are before the deduction of Tax and National Insurance. Schedule 1 details the payments made to each elected Member under the scheme. Schedule 2 details payments made to Co-opted Members.

Althea Loderick Chief Executive

Schedule 2 - Co-opted Members serving from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2019

Initial	Surname	Basic Pay £		
С	Austin	154.58***		
	Choudhury	154.58***		
	529.87*			
Е	Kemp	747.00**		
Р	Halliwell	201.40***		
G	Moses	154.58***		
Т	Robinson	529.87*		
J	Van Bussell	529.87*		

^{*} Independent Member Allowance for Standards Committee reduced in-financial year

^{**} Independent Member Allowance for O&S Committee reduced in-financial year.

^{***} Independent Member joined Committee in-year

Schedule 1 - Members of the Council who served between 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2019

Initial	Name	Basic	Special	Travelling Allowance £ (Includes any transport or accommodation)	Subsistence Allowance £	Dependents Carer's Allowance £	Telephone Allowance £	Notes
Н	Abdulmuhit	£11,036.80	£3,464.13					Note 2
N	Ahmed	£9,929.28	£3,210.71					
0	Akiwowo	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
A	Alarice	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
J	Alexander	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
М	Ali	£9,929.28	0					
Z	Ali	£9,929.28	£13,125.64					
J	Asser	£9,929.28	£5,675.81					
A	Baikie	£1,107.52	£3,446.05					Note 3
J	Bailey	£9,929.28	0					
J	Beckles	£11,036.80	£19,467.73					
В	Blaney	£9,929.28	0					
F	Bourne	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
S	Brayshaw	£11,036.80	£1,378.43					Note 2
A	Chowdhury	£11,036.80	£689.21					Note 2
D	Christie	£1,107.52	£1,378.43					Note 3
FK	Clark	£11,036.80	£4,029.43					Note 2,
								Note 6
F	Clarke	£1,107.52	£689.21					Note 3
В	Collier	£1,107.52	0		•••••			Note 3
Ī	Corbett	£1,107.52	£3,446.05					Note 3
J	Corbett	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
R	Crawford	£1,107.52	£3,446.05					Note 3
S	Das Gupta	£9,929.28	0					
R	Dasgupta	£9,929.28	0					
M	Dawood	£9,929.28	0					
U	Desai	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
A	Easter	£11,036.80	£14,740.23					
R	Fiaz	0	£82,607.65	£815.76	£75.65			Note 1
С	Furness	£1,107.52	£3,446.05					Note 3
0	Gangadharan	£9,929.28	0					
J	Garfield	£9,929.28	0		•••••			
J	Gray	£11,036.80	£34,095.48					
A	Griffiths	£11,036.80	£3,322.58					
В	Guana	£9,929.28	0					
Z	Gulamussen	£11,036.80	0					
Р	Holland	£11,036.80	0					
L	Hudson	£11,036.80	£2,817.10					Note 2, Note 5
F	Hussain	£1,107.52	£3,446.05					Note 3
I	Ibrahim	£1,107.52	£3,446.05					Note 3
 А	Islam	£11,036.80	£13,941.93					
N	Jahan	£9,929.28	0					
Mo	Khan	£4,485.03	0					Note 4
Mu	Khan	£9,929.28	0					
0	Khan	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
G	Kitchen	£9,929.28	0					
J	Laguda	£11,036.80	£13,984.40					
C	Lee Phakoe	£9,929.28	£5,675.81					

Initial	Name	Basic	Special	Travelling Allowance £ (Includes any transport or accommodation)	Subsistence Allowance £	Dependents Carer's Allowance £	Telephone Allowance £	Notes
 D	Lee Phakoe	£9,929.28	0					
J	Lofthouse	£9,929.28	£1,785.00					
P	Makwana	£9,929.28	0		• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •			
J	Marriott	£11,036.80	£32,223.22					
S	Masters	£11,036.80	£31,015.13					
A	McAlmont	£11,036.80	£19,040.38					
С	McAuley	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
C	McLean	£11,036.80	£35,819.65					
R	Mirza	£9,929.28	0				•	
S	Mohammed	£9,929.28	£5,675.81					
M	Mughal	£9,929.28	0					
P	Murphy	£11,036.80	£2,174.38					Note 2,
	- 1- 3	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	,					Note 6
F	Nazeer	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
F	Nekiwala	£11,036.80	£5,675.81					
A	Noor	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
V	Oakeshott	£5,507.32	0					Note 4
N	Osei	£9,929.28	0					
Mas	Patel	£11,036.80	£2,756.83					Note 2
M	Patel	£1,107.52	£689.21					Note 3
S	Patel	£11,036.80	£2,067.63					Note 2
T	Paul	£11,036.80	£34,422.00	£136.22				
Q	Peppiatt	£11,036.80	0		:			
M	Rahman	£9,929.28	0					
R	Rahman	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
 T	Rahman	£11,036.80	£1,378.43					Note 2
 S	Ruiz	£9,929.28	£10,419.34					
P	Sathianesan	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
<u></u> К	Scoresby	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
<u> </u>	Shah	£11,036.80	£1,632.34					Note 2
<u></u>	Siddigah	£9,929.28	0					14010 2
Α	Singh	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
E	Sparrowhawk	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
 K	Thekkeppurayil	£9,929.28	0					
S	Thomas	£1,107.52	0					Note 3
G	Tohoura	£9,929.28	0					
<u></u> R	Tripp	£11,036.80	£30,376.99					
 W	Vaughan	£11,036.80	£14,704.84					
H	Virdee	£11,036.80	£6,862.26					
:.: R	Wales	0	£8,359.90					
 M	Walls	£1,107.52	20,000.00					Note 3
J	Whitworth	£11,036.80	£14,704.84	£77.90				1,010 0
N	Wilson	£11,036.80	£17,320.64	£245.45	£10.20			
T	Wilson	£11,036.80	£1,378.43	22 10.70	210.20			Note 2

- Note 1 SRA for Mayor includes Basic Allowance Payment
- Note 2 Basic Includes Retrospecitve Payment of $\mathfrak{L}50.16$ made 2019/2020 (Dec)
- Note 3 Term of Office Ended May Elections 2018
- Note 4 Cllr Oakeshott resigned September 2018 and Councillor M Khan elected following byelection November 2018.
- Note 5 SRA Includes Retrospective payment of £90.69 made in 2019/2020 (Dec).
- Note 6 The SRA paid included an additional payment of £1045 pro rata permitted under the allowance scheme as the Council's representatives at that time (now ceased).