Previous election results

Newham Council Local Elections 2022

Find out the results for the Newham Council local elections 2022

May 6 2021 Elections and Referendum results

Governance Referendum results: Thursday 6 May 2021

The Council gave Newham residents the opportunity to vote in a referendum on the question “How would you like the London Borough of Newham to be run?

The number of voters in Newham who answered with "By a mayor who is elected by voters. This is how the council is run now" was:  Mayoral model: 45,960 (56%).

The number of voters who answered with " By one or more committees made up of elected councillors. This would be a change from how the council is run now." was: Committee model 36,424 (44%).

Total number of votes counted: 85,087
Number of ballot papers rejected: 2,703
Turnout: 37.68%

East Ham Central By-Election

The Labour Party candidate Farah Nazeer has been elected into the vacant seat in the East Ham Central ward by-election.

Lois Austin – Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition - 91 (2%)
Eduard-Lucian Comaromi –  Liberal Democrats - 239 (6%)
SK Zakir Hossain – Conservative Party - 1288 (30%)
Paul Martin Jobson – Christian Peoples Alliance - 115 (3%)
Daniel Keeling – Green Parry - 283 (7%)
Farah Nazeer – Labour and Co-operative Party - 2,297 (53%)

Mayor of London and London Assembly Election

For results for The Mayor of London, London Assembly Member and Constituency London Assembly Member please visit the London Elects website for the latest news.


Results of our elections and the Newham results of London Mayor and Assembly, General and European elections.

UK General Election 2019

East Ham Constituency results

Stephen Timms Labour Party - 41703

Michael James Fox Liberal Democrats - 2158

Kamran Malik Communities United Party - 250

Scott Curtis Pattenden The Conservative Party - 8527

Alka Sehgal Cuthbert Brexit Party - 1107

Michael John Spracklin (commonly known as - Mike Spracklin) Green Party​ - 883

Turnout - 62.05%

Total votes cast - 54628

West Ham Constituency results​

Lyn Carol Brown The Labour Party - 42181

Paul Martin Jobson Christian Peoples Alliance - 463

Humera Kamran Communities United Party - 143

Daniel James Keeling (commonly known as - Danny Keeling) Green Party - 1780

Sanam Sara Kumar (commonly known as Sara Kumar) Conservative Party Candidate - 9793

Eimear O'Casey Liberal Democrats - 4161

Emma Jane Stockdale Brexit Party - 1679

Turnout - 61.68%

Total votes cast - ​60200


European Parliamentary Elections 2019

Lewisham: London Region Result 

Newham Results (PDF)

Turnout: 36.2%


Election results: Thursday 3 May 2018

Mayor of Newham election

Newham Council election 


Forest Gate North by-election: Thursday 14 July 2016

The Labour Party candidate Anamul Islam has been elected into the vacant seat in the Forest Gate

North ward by-election.

Full Forest Gate North by-election results 


EU Referendum results: Thursday 23 June 2016

The number of voters in Newham who answered with "Remain a member of the European Union" was 55,328.

The number of voters who answered with "Leave the European Union" was 49,371.

  • Total number of votes counted: 104,699
  • Number of ballot papers rejected: 165
  • Turnout: 59.25%
  • Newham electorate: 176,985

You can find the referendum results for the rest of London on the London Council's website


Election results: Thursday 5 May 2016

City and East Constituency result

The Constituency Returning Officer for City and East has declared that Unmesh Desai has been elected as the London Assembly Member for City & East.



Number of votes​

BAGSHAW, Elaine Sheila

​London Liberal Democrats


CHAPMAN, Christopher James

​The Conservative Party Candidate



​Green Party​


​D'SOUZA, Aaron Anthony Jose Hasan

​All People's Party


DESAI, Unmesh

​Labour Party


GICHINGA, Amina May Kay

​Take Back the City


​HARRIS, Peter James

​UK Independence Party (UKIP)



​Respect (George Galloway)


Turnout: 42%

Total good votes cast: 211,421

Ballot papers rejected: 3,203

Visit the London Elects website for details of other elected London Assembly Constituency Members.


Mayor of London and London-wide Assembly Members results

See the results on the London Elects website.