Register to vote

Register to vote (or update your details)


Step 1: Visit www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

Step 2: Enter your name, address, date of birth, nationality and national insurance number.

Step 3: You can choose to apply to vote by post or decide whether or not you want your details on the public version of the register.

Step 4: The information you entered is verified against the information held by central Government for accuracy.  You do not need to do anything until you hear from us but please remember, at this stage, your application is being processed and you are not yet registered to vote.

Step 5;  If the information you entered is verified, you are registered to vote and we will send you an acknowledgment letter.  If you applied to vote by post, we will send you an application for a postal vote.  

Step 6: However, where your information did not match the Government databases, we will inform you and ask you to provide additional evidence, such as a copy of your passport, to support your application.  You will not be registered to vote until we receive the additional information.

Step 7: We will send you a ‘confirmation of registration’ letter after the next monthly update of the electoral register. (See the table below for the monthly timetable publication dates).

No access to the internet? You can ring the office on 020 8430 2000 and provide the information over the telephone or we can send you an application through the post.

When we update the electoral register

Between January and September, we update the electoral register on the first working day of the month.

Between September and December we close the register while we hold our annual review of the electoral register.  We publish the revised electoral register on 1 December.

The table below tells you when we need to have received your application and any evidence requested to ensure that your name can be added to the following month’s electoral register.

Monthly revisions to the published Register of Electors 2023

To include you in the register that’s published on….

We need you to have got your application by…

If you are asked to provide further evidence, we need to have it by...

Tuesday 3 January 2023

Monday 12 December 2022

Tuesday 20 December 2022

Wednesday 1 February 2023

Tuesday 10 January 2023

Wednesday 18 January 2023

Wednesday 1 March 2023

Tuesday 7 February 2023

Wednesday 15 February 2023

Monday 3 April 2023

Friday 10 March 2023

Monday 20 March 2023

Tuesday 2 May 2023

Thursday 6 April 2023

Friday 14 April 2023

Thursday 1 June 2023

Wednesday 10 May 2023

Thursday 18 May 2023

Monday 3 July 2023

Friday 9 June 2023

Monday 19 June 2023

Tuesday 1 August 2023

Monday 10 July 2023

Tuesday 18 July 2023

Friday 1 September 2023

Thursday 10 August 2023

Friday 18 August 2023