School term and holiday dates

Governing boards are responsible for setting the school term and holiday dates for each school. This calendar provides a framework for governing boards to set their dates. Individual school dates will vary, so please check the school website for the dates at specific schools.

Please note that Healthy School Street restrictions are not enforced on any Bank Holiday or Public Holiday which falls within the school term

School Terms Pupil holidays

Autumn

Friday 1 September 2023 to Friday 20 October 2023 

Half Term

Monday 23 October 2023 to
Friday 27 October 2023

Autumn

Monday 30 October 2023 to
Wednesday 20 December 2023

Religious Festivals

Diwali: Sunday 12 November 2023
Vikram New Year in Gujarat: Monday 13 November 2023
Guru Nanak’s Birthday: Monday 27 November 2023  

Christmas Break

Thursday 21 December 2023 to
Wednesday 3 January 2024

 

Christmas Day and New Year’s Day fall within the Christmas Break

 

Spring

Thursday 4 January 2024 to
Friday 9 February 2024

Half Term

Monday 12 February 2024 to
Friday 16 February 2024

Spring

Monday 19 February 2024 to
Thursday 28 March 2024

Spring Break

Friday 29 March 2024 to Friday 12 April 2024

 Religious Festivals

The Easter religious festival falls within the spring break
Eid-ul-Fitr: Predicted as Tuesday 9 –  Wednesday 10 April 2024 

Summer

Monday 15 April 2024 to
Friday 24 May 2024

Religious festivals 
Eid-ul-Adha:
Monday 17 June 2024

Half Term

Monday 27 May 2024 to
Friday 31 May 2024

May Day
Monday 6 May 2024

Summer

Monday 3 June 2024 to
Monday 22 July 2024

Summer Break

Tuesday 23 July 2024 to - To be advised

In-service training days:

This calendar includes 5 days which should be allocated for in-service training on dates chosen by each school.

School term and holiday dates calendar 2023/24 (PDF)

School term and holiday dates calendar 2024/25 (PDF)

Changes to School Term and Holiday Dates 2023 - 24

The Local Authority has revised the dates for School Term and Holiday Dates 2023 – 2024. This is due to new information that has emerged in relation to the dates agreed by neighbouring boroughs, and views received from schools. The changes relate to 1) the mid-term of autumn 2023 and 2) spring break 2024.

Governing Bodies will decide on whether to agree these revised dates. Individual school dates will vary, so please check the school website for the dates at specific schools.

The key changes are:

  • The mid-term of autumn 2023 to be adjusted from Monday 30 October to Friday 3 November to Monday 23 – Friday 27 October 2023, to align with neighbouring boroughs.
  • The spring break 2024 to be adjusted from Monday 25 March – Friday 5 April 2024, to Friday 29 March – Friday 12 April 2024. This is to incorporate Eid-ul-Fitr, predicted to fall on Tuesday 9 – Wednesday 10 April 2024.