Dog care and control

Banned dogs

Under the Dangerous Dogs Act 1991 you must not own, sell, breed, give away or exchange five breeds of dog:

  • Pit Bull Terrier type
  • Japanese Tosa
  • Dogo Argentino
  • Fila Braziliero
  • XL Bully type 

Find out more about banned dogs on the Government's website

Penalties for owners

If you own or keep a banned dog and are prosecuted, you could face an unlimited fine, a prison sentence, banned from owning or looking after a dog and your dog could be euthanized