School curriculum

The curriculum in secondary schools

Years 7 to 9 (key stage 3)

National curriculum subjects taught at this stage are:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • ICT
  • Design and technology
  • Art and design
  • Music
  • Geography
  • Modern foreign languages
  • Citizenship
  • History
  • Physical education.

In Years 7 to 11, maintained schools in Newham have to teach a course in religious education which is agreed locally. Schools must also provide suitable sex and relationship education.

Years 10 to 11 (key stage 4)

In Years 10 to 11 your child will probably work towards national qualifications, usually GCSEs. At this stage, national curriculum subjects are made up of the core and foundation subjects.

Core subjects are:

  • English
  • Math,
  • Science.

Foundation subjects are:

  • ICT
  • Physical education
  • Citizenship.

Schools must also offer at least one subject from each of these areas:

  • Arts
  • Design and technology
  • Humanities
  • Modern foreign languages

They must also teach religious education and sex education.

For more information on how the national curriculum is taught in your child's school, contact the school's headteacher.

English Baccalaureate (EBacc)

In performance tables, the EBacc shows how many students got a GCSE grade C or above in English, maths, 2 sciences, a language, and history or geography.