Reports and briefs

Scrutiny Task and Finish Commissions have recently covered the following:

  • Community Safety Partnership - Crime and Anti-Social Behaviour Scrutiny Commission
  • Street Violence - Crime and Anti-Social Behaviour Scrutiny Commission Maternity Services - Health and Adult Social Care Scrutiny Commission Newham University Hospital Improvement - Health and Adult Social Care Scrutiny Commission
  • Newham Legacy Investments (London Stadium)
  • Air Quality - Regeneration, Housing and Environment Scrutiny Commission

Overview and Scrutiny Annual Reports

Each year, Scrutiny produces an annual report outlining their activities and findings to the Annual Council Meeting in May, follow the links to view the reports:

  • Scrutiny Annual Report 2019/21
  • Scrutiny Annual Report 2018/19
  • Scrutiny Annual Report 2017/18
  • Scrutiny Annual Report 2016/17

Budget Working Group Party

Each year scrutiny has a key role in reviewing the Mayor’s draft budget proposals for the each ahead, and making any recommendations for consideration for Cabinet and then the Full Council where the annual budget is approved (February/early March each year) , Cllr McAlmont is the Chair, with the following Councillors proposed for 2020/21 budget scrutiny:

  • Councillor McAlmont (Chair)
  • Councillor Daniel Lee-Phakoe
  • Councillor Ayesha Chowdhury
  • Councillor John Whitworth
  • Councillor Quintin Peppiatt
  • Councillor Lakmini Shah
  • Councillor Lester Hudson
  • Councillor Nilufa Jahan
  • Councillor Delphine Tohoura
  • Councillor Neil Wilson
  • Councillor Pushpa Makwana

The final report is presented at Cabinet and Council each February, in accordance with the annual council tax and budget setting cycle.

For more information on Newham’s Councillors including committee membership and ward areas​