School admissions statutory consultation

In accordance with the School Admissions (Admission Arrangements and Co-ordination of Admission Arrangements) (England) Regulations 2012 the London Borough of Newham is consulting on its proposed school admission arrangements for September 2019 onwards. ​​​
​These arrangements and oversubscription criteria are for all Newham community* and voluntary controlled schools (infant, junior, primary and secondary):

Eastlea Community School, Kingsford Community School, Lister Community School, Little Ilford School, Plashet School, Rokeby School, The Cumberland School, The Royal Docks Community School and Sarah Bonnell School 

Altmore Infant School, Avenue Primary School, Brampton Primary School, Calverton Primary School, Carpenter’s Primary School, Central Park Primary School, Colegrave Primary School, Dersingham Primary School, Ellen Wilkinson Primary School, Elmhurst Primary School, Essex Primary School, Gallions Primary School, Godwin Junior School, Grange Primary School, Hallsville Primary School, Keir Hardie Primary School, Lathom Junior School, Manor Primary School, Maryland Primary School, Nelson Primary School, New City Primary School, North Beckton Primary School, Odessa Infant School, Park Primary School, Plaistow Primary School, Roman Road Primary School, School 21, St. James’ CoE Primary School, St. Stephen’s Primary School, Salisbury Primary School, Sandringham Primary School, Scott Wilkie Primary School, Shaftesbury Primary School, Sir John Heron Primary School, Southern Road Primary School, Star Primary School, School, Vicarage Primary School, West Ham Church Primary School, William Davies Primary School, Winsor Primary School and Woodgrange Infant School      

*For any of the community schools listed above who are in the process of converting to an academy during the consultation period they have indicated they will be adopting the arrangements determined (set) by this consultation.
The academies and free schools listed below who propose to continue to adopt the local authorities arrangements:

Bobby Moore Academy, Brampton Manor Academy, Forest Gate Community School, Langdon Academy, Oasis Academy Silvertown  

Britannia Village Primary School, Cleves Primary School, Curwen Primary School, Drew Primary School, Earlham Primary School, Gainsborough Primary School, Hartley Primary School, Kaizen Primary School, Kensington Primary School, Monega Primary School, Portway Primary School, Ranelagh Primary School, Ravenscroft Primary School, Rosetta Primary School, Selwyn Primary School, Sheringham Academy, Tollgate Primary School, Upton Cross Primary 

The academies located within the London Borough of Newham listed below propose to adopt the the arrangements determined (set) by this consultation but will not be adopting the oversubscription criteria and will continue to use their own.

East London Science School, London Design and Engineering – University Technical College, St. Angela’s Ursuline School, St. Bonaventure’s Catholic Comprehensive School and Stratford School Academy.  

Consultation period

Thursday 7 December 2017 to 17:00 on Wednesday 31 January 2018.Thursday 7 December 2017 to 17:00 on Wednesday 31 January 2018. 

Key changes

  1. ​The admission arrangements now cover both primary and secondary school admissions. Previously the London Borough of Newham had separate arrangements for primary and secondary admissions.
  2. Catchment areas for primary admissions will no longer be used. The associated catchment area priority for infant, junior and primary schools have been removed from the London Borough of Newham over subscription criteria. This will avoid confusion and to remove a barrier to admission at the most geographically local schools.
  3. Children of members of school staff have been added to the London Borough of Newham over subscription criteria - priority 3 (see pages 10 and 24 of the admission arrangements for explanation).
  4. Children of Service personnel (serving in the British armed forces) have been added to the London Borough of Newham over subscription criteria - priority 4 (see pages 10 and 24 of the admission arrangements for a explanation).

Proposed Arrangements

Your opinion is important to us

This is a formal consultation process that gives you your say in how we offer school places within the borough.  Having your say will help you to build your personal resilience on matters that affect you and/or your community.       

Respond to this consultation

If you would like to participate in this consultation please tell us if you agree or disagree and where you disagree your reason why. All comments will be given serious consideration before we determine (set) our arrangements.

Email your response to​

Contact Us

For further information you can email us at or call 020 3430 2000.

You can also write to:
Pupil Services 
London Borough of Newham
PO Box 69972
E16 9DG 
For more information on schools admissions visit:


Back to top